People of Fish and Wildlife Conservation

Mail may be addressed to any of the recipients below at:

Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation
310 West Campus Drive
Cheatham Hall, RM101, Virginia Tech (MC 0321)
Blacksburg, VA 24061

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Aaron Adkins
adadkins@vt.edu
Advisors: Hallerman/Jones

Robert Alonso
rsalonso@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

Gifty Anane-Taabeah
giftya85@vt.edu
Advisor: Frimpong

My research will be focused on "understanding the threats of climate change to cichlid fish species of commercial importance in Ghana and increasing the resilience of affected populations."

Ben Augustine
baugusti@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

Lauren Austin
laustin3@vt.edu
Advisor:Ford

Spatial and Temporal Effects of Fire on Northern Long-eared Myotis (Myotis septentrionalis).

Elaine Barr
ebarr@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

Henrietta Bellman
henb9@vt.edu
Advisor: Fraser

Earl Berge
earleb@vt.edu
Advisor:
Karpanty

Rujia Bi
rbi@vt.edu
Advisor: Jiao


My current research focuses on spatial stock structure and movement of yellow perch (Perca flavescens) in Lake Erie.

Rebecca Bourquin
brebec6@vt.edu
Advisors: Hallerman & Orth

George Brooks
BOA10gb@vt.edu
Advisor: Haas

I am interested in the conservation of reptiles and amphibians. My research focuses on modelling the population dynamics of the endangered flatwoods salamander, Ambystoma bishopi.

Brian Case

Brian Case
bcase@vt.edu
Advisor: Hopkins

 

Sabrina Deeley
sdeeley@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

Felipe De Moraes Carvalho
fmc@vt.edu
Advisor: Castello

My research focuses on the fisheries impacts, gear selectivity and the community-wide trophic ecology of the marine resources inhabiting the Samana Bay (Dominican Republic) and its surroundings.

Jason Emmel
jsnemmel@vt.edu

Advisor: Orth

Meryl Friedrich
meryl12@vt.edu

Advisors: Fraser & Catlin

Samuel Freeze

Samuel Freeze
srfreeze@vt.edu

Advisor
: Ford

I am fascinated with the natural history, ecology, and behavior of bats. My research interests focus on understanding these mysterious and cryptic creatures, always with a link back to conservation and effective wildlife management.
.

Iris Fynn
irisfynn@vt.edu
Advisor: Frimpong

I am currently studying ways to improve the aquaculture sector in Ghana with the aid of Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Statistics and Economics in Virginia Tech. My research is focused on developing a spatial framework for aquaculture development in Ghana.

Alissa Ganser
amganser@vt.edu
Advisors: Jones & Hallerman

 

Sheila Harris
hsheila1@vt.edu
Advisor: Hallerman

I am using microsatellite data to influence genetic marker-assisted management of Striped Bass and Walleye populations in Virginia.

Anne Hilborn
ahilborn@vt.edu

Advisor: Kelly

I study cheetahs in Serengeti National Park to examine relationships between predators and their prey.

Corbin Hilling
chilling@vt.edu

Advisors: Jiao/Orth

My research investigates the population dynamics of introduced Blue Catfish in Virginia's tidal rivers.

Sydney Hope
shope@vt.edu
Advisor: Hopkins

My general research interests include animal behavior, development, and life history strategies and how they are affected by changes in the environment.

John Huth
jhuth@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

My interests are diverse, but mainly lie in the order Chiroptera.

Miluska Olivera Hyde
mohyde@vt.edu
Advisors: Hallerman/Jones

Murray Hyde
jmhyde89@vt.edu
Advisor: Jones

My work involves monitoring restored populations of freshwater mussels in the Clinch and Powell Rivers.

Marcelo Jorge
mjorge@vt.edu
Advisor: Cherry

My research interests are fire ecology, predator-prey interactions, and animal behavior. While at VT I hope to engage in environmental conservation, mentor undergraduate students, and to get the general public interested and informed in the natural world.

Nicholas Kalen
nkalen@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

Seth Lutter
lutter@vt.edu
Advisor: Dayer

I am researching the human dimensions of habitat conservation on private lands, specifically early successional habitat for bird species such as the Golden-winged Warbler

Zach Martin
zpmartin@vt.edu
Advisor: Angermeier

Katie McBaine
katimc9@vt.edu
Advisors: Angermeier & Hallerman

I am studying demographics and genetic differentiation of candy darter populations in Virginia. My research aims to enhance understanding of population and occupancy dynamics to inform management overseeing this Special Concern species.

David McNitt
dmcnitt@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

I am studying prey utilization and predation behavior of bobcats to better understand potential impacts on white-tailed deer populations in the mountains of western Virginia.

Sarah Medley
sarahem@vt.edu
Advisor: Alexander

I am working on an interdisciplinary research project looking at interactions between water quality and human and environmental health in Northern Botswana.

Lara Mengak
lfmengak@vt.edu
Advisor: Dayer

My research focuses on shorebird conservation, public perceptions of shorebirds, and human disturbance.

Bernardo Mesa
bmesa@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

Kathleen Miles
zookat13@vt.edu
Advisor: Karpanty

I study red fox habitat use and activity patterns on Fire Island, NY. My broader research interests include carnivore ecology, habitat use, and predator-prey relationships, particularly in human-altered areas.

William Moore
willi88@vt.edu
Advisor: Haas

I am interested in the ecology and conservation of reptiles and amphibians, particularly species associated with fire-maintained pine forests of the southeast. My research primarily focuses on habitat use and population dynamics of Gopher Tortoises on Eglin Air Force Base, Florida. ?

Mike Muthersbaugh
muthers@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

Carol Ann Nichols
ncarol09@vt.edu
Advisor: Alexander

I study banded mongooses (Mungos mungo) populations in Chobe District, Botswana to assess the influences of animal behavior on disease dynamics.

Tomas Nocera
tnocera@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

My research will be focused on analyzing acoustic bat data looking at the effects White-nose syndrome has had on bat communities at Fort Drum, NY over a 13 year period. As well as, building species specific portfolios associating habitat characteristics to activity levels across the landscape.

Richard Odom
rhodom@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

Wildlife/Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Christian Osorio P.
ctosorio@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

I study the carnivore communities of the Mediterranean Andes, focused on Wild Felids, in order to understand the mechanisms underlying their coexistence and interactions between them and the role of preys and landscape features on these.
My ultimate goal is to provide management insights for their conservation.

Andrew Phipps
andrew08@vt.edu
Advisor:

Erin Poor (WHAPA Lab/ Graduate Research)
erinpoor@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

Samantha Robinson
samgr@vt.edu
Advisors: Catlin/Fraser

Chris Rowe
crowe106@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

I study wild cat populations in Belize using non-invasive camera trapping techniques. My work so far has focused on jaguars (Panthera onca) and pumas (Puma concolor).

Chris Satter
tiger1@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

My research interests are primarily focused on estimating population sizes of wild cats. These animals are usually very secretive by nature and often times very difficult to study. This type of research is being done though population modeling incorporating non-invasive camera-trapping techniques with a mark-recapture framework.

Joseph Schmitt
jds2012@vt.edu
Advisor: Orth

Applied research that maximizes the potential of commercial and recreational fisheries through use of adaptive management strategies

Brandon Semel
bsemel@vt.edu
Advisor: Karpanty

I am broadly interested in conservation issues facing Madagascar. Specifically, I am looking at lemur populations in Madagascar, and their response to hunting and habitat fragmentation.

Mary Sketch
msketch2@vt.edu
Advisor: Dayer

 

Michael St. Germain
mstgerma@vt.edu
Advisor: Kelly

Emily Thorne
edthorne@vt.edu
Advisor: Ford

My broad research interests include spatial ecology and animal behavior. 

Kelton Verble
kverb418@vt.edu
Advisor: Alexander

My research interests include wildlife conservation genetics, disease ecology, and population dynamic assessments.

Chelsea Weithman
cweithm@vt.edu
Advisors: Catlin & Fraser

Allison White
Advisor: Jiao
allilw8@vt.edu

Majango Wura
mwura@vt.edu
Advisor: Karpanty