People of Fish and Wildlife Conservation

Mail may be addressed to any of the recipients below at:

Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation
310 West Campus Drive
Cheatham Hall, RM101, Virginia Tech (MC 0321)
Blacksburg, VA 24061

FACULTY

Joel Snodgrass
Professor,
Department Head

email:joels@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham


Research Interests
Aquatic Ecology

Kathleen Alexander

Kathleen Alexander
Professor

email: kathyalx@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5059
Office: 2103 ILSB


Research Interests
Wildlife disease, ecosystem health

email:biota@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4501
Office: 342 Latham


Research Interests
Stream fish communities; assessing quality of aquatic resources; conservation of aquatic systems

 

 

Leandro Castello

Leandro Castello
Assistant Professor

email: leandro@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5046
Office: 148 Cheatham


Research Interests
Applied Fish Ecology

Dan Catlin

Dan Catlin
Research
Assistant Professor

email: dcatlin@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-1692
Office: 134 Cheatham


Research Interests
Population dynamics, dispersal, conservation biology, model selection and inference

Michael Cherry

Michael J. Cherry
Assistant Professor

email: mjcherry@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-3960
Office: 106E Cheatham


Research Interests
wildlife-habitat interactions, predator-prey ecology, and ungulate ecology and management

Ashley

Ashley Dayer
Assistant Professor

email:dayer@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-8847
Office: 108 Cheatham


Research Interests
Human dimensions, private lands conservation, bird conservation, human-wildlife conflict, citizen science, research to action

email:adoll@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4864
Office: 350 Latham


Research Interests
Salmonid ecology, watershed management, historical ecology, habitat restoration

email:wmford@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5927
Office:106B Cheatham


Research Interests
Wildlife habitat interactions, white-tailed deer management, ecology & management of bats, non-volant small mammals & woodland salamanders, and high-elevation/relict forest management and restoration in the Appalachians.

 

James Fraser

James (Jim) Fraser
Professor

email: fraser@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6064
Office: 106C Cheatham


Research Interests
Endangered species management, conservation biology

Frimpong

Emmanuel Frimpong
Associate Professor

email:frimp@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6880
Office: 156 Cheatham


Research Interests
Ecology of fishes in fluvial landscapes; life history-based community and species-habitat modeling; theory and applications of aquatic bioassessment and monitoring; large scale freshwater ecosystem conservation planning and policy

Carola Haas

Carola Haas
Professor

email:cahaas@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-9269
Office:112 Cheatham


Research Interests
Behavioral and population ecology; birds, reptiles, and amphibians in production agriculture and forestry systems; landscape effects on reproduction and dispersal

Hallerman

Eric Hallerman
Professor

email: ehallerm@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-3257
Office: 114 Cheatham


Research Interests
Genetics of fish and wildlife species; Genetic improvement of aquaculture stocks; Aquaculture biotechnology and related public policy; Genetics education; Management of Horseshoe Crabs.

William Hopkins

William Hopkins
Professor,
Director of

Global Change Center

email:hopkinsw@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-7292
Office: 444 Latham


Research Interests
Environmental toxicology and wildlife physiology.

Jan Jiao

Yan Jiao
Associate Professor

email:yjiao@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5749
Office:110 Cheatham


Research Interests
Quantitative decision support systems, Marine fisheries management

Jess Jones

Jess Jones
Associate Professor,
Restoration Biologist-
USFWS, Co-Director of
FMCC

email: jess_jones@fws.gov
phone: (540)231-2266/8865
Office: 106A Cheatham


Research Interests
Restoration of endangered mussel populations; conservation management of rivers; ecotoxicology of river ecosystems; mussel propagation and life history; mussel population dynamics and genetics.

 

Sarah Karpanty

Sarah Karpanty
Associate Professor,
Graduate Program
Coordinator

email:karpanty@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4586
Office: 150 Cheatham


Research Interests
Predator-Prey interactions, behavioral ecology

Marcella Kelly

Marcella Kelly
Professor

email:makelly2@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-1734
Office:146 Cheatham


Research Interests
Ecology and population dynamics of mammal species; Tropical ecology and conservation; Predator ecology and conservation

Donald Linzey

Donald Linzey
Instructional Faculty

email:dlinzey@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-2290
Office:154 Cheatham


 

Brian Murphy

Brian Murphy
Professor

email:murphybr@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6959
Office: 442 Latham Hall


Research Interests
Fisheries management, reservoir ecology, international conservation, Natural resource education

Donald Orth

Donald Orth
Thomas Jones Professor

email:dorth@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5919
Office:106D Cheatham


Research Interests
Fisheries management; stream fish ecology; bioethics; population dynamics; instream flow and habitat assessment

Jim Parkhurst

Jim Parkhurst
Associate Professor

email: jparkhur@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-9283
Office: 350 Latham


Research Interests
Human-wildlife conflict resolution; wetlands and wetland wildlife ecology; habitat management and manipulation

Alex Silvis

Alex Silvis
Assistant Research Professor

email:silvis@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5340
Office:106 Cheatham



Dean Stauffer

Dean Stauffer
Professor

email:dstauffe@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-7349
Office:152 Cheatham


Research Interests
Modeling wildlife-habitat relationships; habitat analysis; habitat assessment and evaluation

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Susan Archer

Susan Archer
Bookkeeper

email: sarcher@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-3983
Office: 106 Cheatham Hall

Tara Craig

Tara Craig
Information Technology Specialist/Program Support

email: tvipperm@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6944
Office: 101B Cheatham Hall

Lynn Hayes

Lynn Hayes
Program Support

email: lyhayes@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-1975
Office: 101D Cheatham Hall

Dana Keith

Dana Keith
Admin Assistant to the
Department Head

email: dkeith@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham Hall

Terri Waid

Terri Waid
Virginia Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit Administrative Assistant (DOI/USGS)

email: twaid@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4934
Office: 101C Cheatham Hall

RESEARCH STAFF

Name Phone Office  Email Address Title
Serena Ciparis 231-7241 Mollusk Center sciparis@vt.edu Postdoctoral Associate
Donald Fraser   Boatshed drfraser@vt.edu Watercraft Ops Manager
Dan Gibson   Virginia Tech Shorebird Program (134 Cheatham) gibsond@vt.edu Research Associate
Steve Goodman   FL sjgood@vt.edu Wildlife Worker
Ashley Gramza 231-0961 111 Cheatham Hall agramza@vt.edu National Bird Conservation Social Science Coordinator
John Hallagan   1880 Pratt Drive jjh333@vt.edu Wildlife Ecotox/Phy Eco Research Tech
William Henley 231-7241 Mollusk Center whenley@vt.edu Research Associate
Zach Hurst 231-0961 111 Cheatham Hall zmhurst@vt.edu Research Associate
Kelly Jones    FL kcjones7@vt.edu Field Coordinator
Eunbi Kwon   Virginia Tech Shorebird Program (134 Cheatham) ebkwon@ksu.edu Postdoctoral Associate
Brandon Rincon   FL brandon6@vt.edu Wildlife Worker
Shannon Ritter 231-4433 101 Cheatham Hall sjritter@vt.edu Research Assistant
Claire Sanderson 2103 ILSB clairees@vt.edu Reserach Associate
Sarah Sweeten 149 Cheatham Hall sweeten@vt.edu Postdoctoral Associate
Faren Wolter 231-0961 111 Cheatham Hall fwolter@vt.edu Postdoctoral Associate