People of Fish and Wildlife Conservation

Mail may be addressed to any of the recipients below at:

Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation
310 West Campus Drive
Cheatham Hall, RM101, Virginia Tech (MC 0321)
Blacksburg, VA 24061

FACULTY

photograph of Joel Snodgrass

Joel Snodgrass
Professor,
Department Head

email:joels@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham


Research Interests
Aquatic Ecology

photograph of Kathleen Alexander

Kathleen Alexander
Professor

email: kathyalx@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5059
Office: 2103 ILSB


Research Interests
Wildlife disease, ecosystem health

email:biota@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4501
Office: 342 Latham


Research Interests
Stream fish communities; assessing quality of aquatic resources; conservation of aquatic systems

 

 

photograph of Leandro Castello

Leandro Castello
Assistant Professor

email: leandro@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5046
Office: 148 Cheatham


Research Interests
Applied Fish Ecology

 photograph of Dan Catlin

Dan Catlin
Research
Assistant Professor

email: dcatlin@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-1692
Office: 134 Cheatham


Research Interests
Population dynamics, dispersal, conservation biology, model selection and inference

photograph of Michael Cherry

Michael J. Cherry
Assistant Professor

email: mjcherry@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-3960
Office: 106E Cheatham


Research Interests
wildlife-habitat interactions, predator-prey ecology, and ungulate ecology and management

photograph of Ashley Dayer

Ashley Dayer
Assistant Professor

email:dayer@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-8847
Office: 108 Cheatham


Research Interests
Human dimensions, private lands conservation, bird conservation, human-wildlife conflict, citizen science, research to action

email:adoll@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4864
Office: 350 Latham


Research Interests
Salmonid ecology, watershed management, historical ecology, habitat restoration

email:wmford@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5927
Office:106B Cheatham


Research Interests
Wildlife habitat interactions, white-tailed deer management, ecology & management of bats, non-volant small mammals & woodland salamanders, and high-elevation/relict forest management and restoration in the Appalachians.

 

photograph of James Fraser

James (Jim) Fraser
Professor

email: fraser@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6064
Office: 106C Cheatham


Research Interests
Endangered species management, conservation biology

photograph of Emmanuel Frimpong

Emmanuel Frimpong
Associate Professor

email:frimp@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6880
Office: 156 Cheatham


Research Interests
Ecology of fishes in fluvial landscapes; life history-based community and species-habitat modeling; theory and applications of aquatic bioassessment and monitoring; large scale freshwater ecosystem conservation planning and policy

photograph of Carola Haas

Carola Haas
Professor

email:cahaas@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-9269
Office:112 Cheatham


Research Interests
Behavioral and population ecology; birds, reptiles, and amphibians in production agriculture and forestry systems; landscape effects on reproduction and dispersal

photograph of Eric Hallerman

Eric Hallerman
Professor

email: ehallerm@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-3257
Office: 114 Cheatham


Research Interests
Genetics of fish and wildlife species; Genetic improvement of aquaculture stocks; Aquaculture biotechnology and related public policy; Genetics education; Management of Horseshoe Crabs.

photo of William Hopkins

William Hopkins
Professor,
Director of

Global Change Center

email:hopkinsw@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-7292
Office: 444 Latham


Research Interests
Environmental toxicology and wildlife physiology.

photograph of Jan Jiao

Yan Jiao
Associate Professor

email:yjiao@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5749
Office:110 Cheatham


Research Interests
Population dynamics and stock assessment, quantitative ecology, risk assessment, marine fisheries management

photograph of Jess Jones

Jess Jones
Associate Professor,
Restoration Biologist-
USFWS, Co-Director of
FMCC

email: jess_jones@fws.gov
phone: (540)231-2266/8865
Office: 106A Cheatham


Research Interests
Restoration of endangered mussel populations; conservation management of rivers; ecotoxicology of river ecosystems; mussel propagation and life history; mussel population dynamics and genetics.

 

photo of Sarah Karpanty

Sarah Karpanty
Associate Professor,
Graduate Program
Coordinator

email:karpanty@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4586
Office: 150 Cheatham


Research Interests
Predator-Prey interactions, behavioral ecology

photo of Marcella Kelly

Marcella Kelly
Professor

email:makelly2@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-1734
Office:146 Cheatham


Research Interests
Ecology and population dynamics of mammal species; Tropical ecology and conservation; Predator ecology and conservation

photo of Donald Linzey

Donald Linzey
Instructional Faculty

email:dlinzey@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-2290
Office:154 Cheatham


 

photograph of Ronald Meyers

Ronald Meyers
Assistant Research Professor

Email: rbmeyers@vt.edu
Office: 106 Cheatham
Phone: (540)570-9535


Research Interests

Human dimensions of natural resources

photograph of Brian Murphy

Brian Murphy
Professor

email:murphybr@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6959
Office: 442 Latham Hall


Research Interests
Fisheries management, reservoir ecology, international conservation, Natural resource education

photograph of Donald Orth

Donald Orth
Thomas Jones Professor

email:dorth@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5919
Office:106D Cheatham


Research Interests
Fisheries management; stream fish ecology; bioethics; population dynamics; instream flow and habitat assessment

photograph of Jim Parkhurst

Jim Parkhurst
Associate Professor

email: jparkhur@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-9283
Office: 350 Latham


Research Interests
Human-wildlife conflict resolution; wetlands and wetland wildlife ecology; habitat management and manipulation

photograph of Alex Silvis

Alex Silvis
Assistant Research Professor

email:silvis@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5340
Office:106 Cheatham



photograph of Dean Stauffer

Dean Stauffer
Professor

email:dstauffe@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-7349
Office:152 Cheatham


Research Interests
Modeling wildlife-habitat relationships; habitat analysis; habitat assessment and evaluation

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

photograph of Susan Archer

Susan Archer
Bookkeeper

email: sarcher@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-3983
Office: 106 Cheatham Hall

 photograph of Tara Craig

Tara Craig
Information Technology Specialist/Program Support

email: tvipperm@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-6944
Office: 101B Cheatham Hall

 photograph ofLynn Hayes

Lynn Hayes
Program Support

email: lyhayes@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-1975
Office: 101D Cheatham Hall

photograph of Dana Keith

Dana Keith
Admin Assistant to the
Department Head

email: dkeith@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham Hall

photograph of Terri Waid

Terri Waid
Virginia Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit Administrative Assistant (DOI/USGS)

email: twaid@vt.edu
phone: (540)231-4934
Office: 101C Cheatham Hall

RESEARCH STAFF

Name Phone Office  Email Address Title
Serena Ciparis 231-7241 Mollusk Center sciparis@vt.edu Postdoctoral Associate
Donald Fraser   Boatshed drfraser@vt.edu Watercraft Ops Manager
Dan Gibson   Virginia Tech Shorebird Program (134 Cheatham) gibsond@vt.edu Research Associate
Steve Goodman   FL sjgood@vt.edu Wildlife Worker
Ashley Gramza 231-0961 111 Cheatham Hall agramza@vt.edu National Bird Conservation Social Science Coordinator
John Hallagan   1880 Pratt Drive jjh333@vt.edu Wildlife Ecotox/Phy Eco Research Tech
William Henley 231-7241 Mollusk Center whenley@vt.edu Research Associate
Zach Hurst 231-0961 111 Cheatham Hall zmhurst@vt.edu Research Associate
Kelly Jones    FL kcjones7@vt.edu Field Coordinator
Eunbi Kwon   Virginia Tech Shorebird Program (134 Cheatham) ebkwon@ksu.edu Postdoctoral Associate
Brandon Rincon   FL brandon6@vt.edu Wildlife Worker
Shannon Ritter 231-4433 101 Cheatham Hall sjritter@vt.edu Research Assistant
Claire Sanderson 2103 ILSB clairees@vt.edu Reserach Associate
Sarah Sweeten 149 Cheatham Hall sweeten@vt.edu Postdoctoral Associate
Faren Wolter 231-0961 111 Cheatham Hall fwolter@vt.edu Postdoctoral Associate